Bundle of Questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

project-09

Solid State Member
I've spent hours searching this site for answers to my questions but have not been able to find ones that fit my situation. Sorry for any incovenience.

I have always had my friend reformat my computer for me, because we usually hang out a lot and whenever I complain about my computer he offers to format it. And when i was younger my dad did it for me so I have no experience. But this time I want to reformat it myself and i want to make sure I do everything i can to safe guard it. Here are my computer's specs

AMD 1.33 or 1.2 i forget.
40 Gig Hdrive
768 MB of SDRam
ATI Radeon 7200
Abit Motherboard KT7A Raid
Using Broadband currently with no Router :( just bought one to put in.

After reformatting my computer what are some good first steps I can take to safe guard it from bad stuff on the internet? I have a router that I will install, I have ad-aware and spybot ready to install as well.

Is there anyway to prevent a memory leak? Or is there free monitoring software? If there is software and its not free how much should i spend on it and whats a good brand?

My friend mentioned IP Masquarade is that necessary if I have a wireless router? Or is it already something the router has, I know for sure my router uses SPI and NAT.

I noticed surfing the web, when i go to some pages it asks me to install some software or product and I click no. But i later find out it made its way into my computer anyway...and changed the Registry. And sometimes Spybot can't do anything to fix it...but maybe I'm not smart enough to use spybot correctly. HOw can I protect my registry?

Misc. whats Fat32 vs NTFS. I do web design, motion graphics and print design, largest photoshop files are around 400mb. Largest video files are 300-400mb. I usually have many folders for many clients and projects. How does Fat32 and NTFS affect my computer?