Are DOA mobos really that common?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I've been trying to pick out a mobo and after researching on newegg, it seems most every brand has its fair share of DOA reviews.

This is the one I'm leaning towards.Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX All Solid Capacitor Intel Motherboard - Retail

This will be my first build and I'd hate to have defective parts ruin and frustrate the experience.

You actually have a pretty small chance of getting a bad board or other component. I have been building systems for a few years and so far I have been lucky, I have only gotten one bad hard drive and I got a defective USB joystick once. I agree, Ignore the vendor reviews. Some people base their entire build on just those reviews, or form an opinion based on the few bad reviews, but fail to realize that thousands of the part in question has been sold and used with no issues.

As we all know, people usually don't post about a product until something goes wrong. You rarely hear about the good things.

The important thing is never touching the contacts whether on memory or any expansion card be video, sound, capture, tuner type as well as the pins on a cpu. One little zap and you have something to serve up in the toaster oven for breakfast.

I found wrist straps for non powered components to be unnecessary when using common sense as far as handling was concerned. As for video and sound cards I can walk around all day and simply grab the frame of the case right before placing them down in a slot.

For first time builders the rule of playing it smart and learning the basics of esd precautions is strongly advised there. Otherwise some newbie is likely to grab different hardwares/devices by the contact edge or bending cpu pins.

yeah i got a good one.

FIRST purchace i EVER made from the egg i got a DOA board