Vista Or XP

Status
Not open for further replies.
i actually do know how to install a new OS......... i am a computer technician its just lately i have been running across stuff that i have never ran accrosss before like.. FIREFOX FREEZING UP AGAIN!!...

Magic Jellybean will also show you your serial number installed.

Just use Google :)

Umm i have vista installed right now. and i wanna go from vista to xp. Magic Jellybean is just gonna show me my vista cd key.. which is NOT what i want..

Im gonna try GParted thats if i can find my cd key or ill just stick with Vista.. untill i get a cd and a cd key. Vista isnt given me ALOT of problems just a few..

i am doing a big scan with ESET. and i see in the log file as it is scanning that there is a few problems..

when it started scanning it said

C:\pagefile.sys - error opening
C:\Boot\BCD - error opening
C:\Boot\BCD.LOG - error opening

any thoughts?

I don't see it as touchy. But i agree with Mak that you post didn't really help resolve the issue did it apart from a useless flame against Vista...

That's pretty presumptuous of you, assuming that flaming Vista is useless. It's freaking OS bloatware. W2k Advanced Server handles 4 gig of memory better, and MS should be ashamed to put Vista on the market before they can make make it perform at least as well as that OS they put out 8 years ago. Yeah, it looks pretty, but aside from that, MS really dropped the ball on it, and they're screwing people out of hundreds of dollars each for a new OS they don't need, and that doesn't work well.

So excuse me if I make an occasional backhanded dig at it.

Anyway, on to the original question of the thread, when you get that kind of error when you're trying to install an OS, 9 times out of 10, it means your media is bad - is the disc scratched? Try with a different copy of XP and see if it's just a bad disc.