First gaming pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bonestock

Solid State Member
Well I didnt see an into section so Ill introduce myself first. My name is Will. I live in Japan and Im new to building gaming pc's. I have built pc's before but not for games and not for myself. I'm currently in the process of building a gaming machine for myself. As I said its the first game machine I've built so Im looking for some advice and useful input. The pc will be used mostly for gaming, but also for video editing and graphics programs. I dont plan on building a new setup for awhile so I hope this setup with support current/future games for awhile. Its been almost 5 years since I've bought a PC game and would like to get some of the new FPS games like Crysis, etc. Is what I have purchased overkill or not good enough?

So far I have purchased:

-Gigabyte MA790FX-DQ6 motherboard
-AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition CPU (Quad Core 2.3GHz)
-Zalman Ultra Quiet CNPS7500 CPU cooler
-Buffalo Firestix DDR2 800MHz 1GBx2 Ram (Supposed to be one of the best brands on the Japanese market/will upgrade to 4GB's if the Ram is worth it)
-HIS Radeon X1650 Pro IceQ Video Card - 512MB GDDR2, PCI Express, CrossFire Ready, DVI, VGA, HDTV, Vi (might purchase a second card if needed)
-EZCOOL ATX H550_F25 case with 500w PSU
-Windows XP Pro

Still need to purchase: Advice would be much appreciated

-Hard disks (Would like to purchase 2 500Gb disks but dont know which brand)
-DVD/DVD-R drives

Is there anything else I need to purchase. Also, how does my current setup stand up against some of the higher end gaming machines? Thanks for any comments/advice you guys can give me.

Welcome to Tech-Forums. The intro section is pretty far down the page... most miss it for a while.

Nice start for a AMD quad build. Most here have jumped ship for Intel, but Phenom will work.

A 790 board is a great start, and the 9600 BE is a great chip.