Newbie here with some questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.
The E2180 will most likely mean you'll have to upgrade soon while the Quad you won't have to for a long while. The 9600 that b1gapl or the 8800 gt that Vern suggested are both good cards.

first thanks for all the support in a short time!

But I will admit a lot of the numbers you guys gave me don't mean a whole lot right now.

But I gather the best bet is to hand pick each part of the computer one by one and build it that way? A buddy of mine said this would be a good way to go.

How do I go about compatability, like motherboard to CPU, and power supply, etc?

gsteffens said:
How do I go about compatability, like motherboard to CPU, and power supply, etc?

For starters, which company will you go with? Intel or AMD. Most will say Intel at the moment, because right now they have the upper hand in performance. But there's no problem going with AMD, if you chose them.

So with Intel you go with a Socket 775 motherboard and CPU, because that is the latest from Intel. And if you chose AMD, you go with an AM2+ motherboard and CPU.

With the power supply, any reliable brand of power supply will be fine. Top brands include PC Power & Cooling, Corsair, Silverstone, FSP(Fortron), SeaSonic, Antec, etc.

With memory, you go with DDR2. As it is widely available, and it is at it's lowest prices.

Graphic cards. You go with PCIe slot graphic cards, because they are the newest type of graphic cards. There are two versions of PCIe type graphic cards, and that's 1.1 and 2.0. Obviously 2.0 is the latest and the one to go for. And the newest motherboards are 2.0 compatible. Don't worry if you've settled with a PCIe 1.1 graphic card, because it is backwards compatible with motherboards supporting PCIe 2.0.