Newbie here with some questions!

Status
Not open for further replies.

gsteffens

Contributor
Hey everyone! Brand new to the forum, and somewhat new to computers.

I'm a auto. mechanic, firefighter and student where I live, and I'm looking to at least as a hobby get into building my own computer.

My plan is to build a decent desktop that will be used primarily for gaming. The game in the sights right now is Battlefield 2, which plays on my laptop but too choppy due to the video card in it. There may be other games in the future though too.

I'm looking to buy a bare bones kit, to this tune

ECS GeForce6100PM-M2 Socket AM2+ Barebone Kit - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3800+ 2.0GHz OEM, 1GB DDR2 PC4200, ATX Mid-Tower Case, 350 Watt Power Supply at TigerDirect.com

And then one by one buy the video card, RAM, CD drive, ETC and build it myself at home. I think it would be easier on my wallet to build it little by little, and also be a good learning project too. And I always wanted to build my own.

Any information you guys can offer about doing this? Is tigerdirect a good source? Is there a processor brand you'd shoot for? I'm told to try to get the quad core by Intel. How about anything else for gaming? I'm told to aim for good processor, good RAM, and a good video card and I should be game ready. How about OS? Is XP good? Or should I go with something else?

Thanks all in advance. I look forward to being an active poster and hopefully you guys can help give me some direction to building this computer.

Hi gsteffens....you have come to the right place.

Tell these guys how much money you would like to put in your rig, and you will get about the best build for your buck here.

There's not a set limit right now, but it will have to be over time, and that's why I wanted to do it in a bare bones kit and then build onto it because I can piece it together.