Need help upgrading video card.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Dude just get like a 500~600 watt power supply (if you don't plan on using SLI), or 700~800 watts (if you plan on SLI), and trust me you'll never need to worry about Power Supply again.

yeah, you are the reputable builder.

The parts I suggested use your current motherboard so you won't have to buy Windows. your version is an OEM version, and can't be transferred to a new mobo.

If you want to build, build it. Plenty of help here to do it, and it isn't hard at all.

A bigger PSU will allow a better GFX card.

I'm going to build it myself, but I wanted a website to look at to familiarize myself with terms. For instance, I have no idea what 'OEM' and 'mobo' mean. I'm a complete and utter newbie when it comes to the hardware aspects of PCs, even if I have familiarized myself with software. Basically, I know how to work it but not how to build it. I'd like to and intend to learn how to build it.

Dude just get like a 500~600 watt power supply (if you don't plan on using SLI), or 700~800 watts (if you plan on SLI), and trust me you'll never need to worry about Power Supply again.

Power supply is connected to what? The CPU? Is a separate component entirely?

OEM = Original equipment manufacturer. Basically this means you get the part and nothing else, as compared to "retail" which would include stuff like extra cables and whatnot.

Mobo = short for "motherboard"

GFX = graphics

The PSU, or power supply unit, connects to a lot of things, but not the CPU, or processor, directly. The PSU has two sets of cables that plug into the motherboard, as well as plugs for the hard drive(s), optical drive(s), fan(s), graphic card(s), and anything else that needs power.

Ordered. Will I be able to play Crysis?

The good news is that your motherboard can handle a better processor... the bad news is that is can only go up to a Pentium D dual-core, not a Core2Duo. But that is an improvement, anyway.