Updating Sytem, need suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

dennykyser

Baseband Member
I am updating my desktop PC and need some help.
I am a photographer/videographer so my system is used for high end graphics and rendering apps, not games. I am a multi tasker.

Current system.
Win XP Pro
Pent D 820 Smithfield 2.8GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 95W Dual-Core Proces
4 Gigs DDR2 Ram
Intel LGA 775 Intel 945P ATX Intel Motherboard
11 Hard Drives, 3 Internal & 8 externals.

I need more power to run my video editing software.
Plan on replacing 1 Internal HD, Mobo, and Processor for now.

My questions are.
1) How can I save the content on my C Drive, it has my OS and Adobe software. For me this is a lot, Photoshop CS3, Premier Pro CS3, and many more Adobe software apps. I will get a new HD for my C drive and get rid of my smallest internal.

2)What mobo, and processor do you suggest. I am wanting the sweet spot, meaning most power and speed that is in the good price range.

Thanks in advance on any advice and suggestions. This will be the first time I have updated a system. The last three I just made new builds and replaced. I really dont want to do that now, I have a great case, ps, videocard etc.

I should also add, re installing os is not a killer, I have the oem info and disk I purchased when I built the system.

DEF get a q6600 (quad core) it is a beast at multi tasking from what i hear... a mild overclock on that wouldnt be a bad choice either. Also if you dont have it now i would highly suggest getting a board with firewire 800... wicked fast connection for your external drives also you can link them all in a chain

Thanks, any other board recomendation. My memory is (4) 1 gig mods. so really need 4 slots.

Also anyone have any good suggestions on clone/copy program to clone my C drive before switching out board?

Thanks, any other board recomendation. My memory is (4) 1 gig mods. so really need 4 slots.