Overclocking?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dainius

In Runtime
OK I am a complete noob when it comes to OC'ing. Ive got the TF 570sli mobo, AMD X2 6400, and soon to be 4 gigs of dominataor ram(forgot which exact one) Now I have tried using multiple windows based OC'ing utilities, none of which save the settings and they seem to do nothing. Also in the bios when I change the cpu frequency i guess it is, voltage, memory OC, when I save and reload I get an error message form CMOS and windows will start in safe mode and it automatically changes my settings back to stock. Any ideas on this or what am I doing wrong.

great links and makes it very clear on OCing for the new guys. My problem is when i change the frequency form the stock setting of 200 to say 210X15, forgive me on the technical terms, and voltage to 1.5, i save setting sin the bios and reload an windows crashes. So i lower it to 205 and it still crashes. So I try the automatic OC for newbies and I get the error in the bios CMOS error please reset the cpu frequency then it automatically resets itself. Ive heard the TF570 SLI isnt the most friendly for OC'ing but I have heard of it being done with no problems... I know I cant OC my cpu much but some would be cool to learn with, same with the memory. Any help or more links would be greatly appreciated.

What is the defualt voltage for the CPU? Small increments of Voltage.

Say for example you want to try 210X15, and stock Vcore is 1.5, you would want to try the Vcore at 1.53 or 1.55
For AMD's you may need to lower the HTT Multi from 4-5 to 3.
It has been 3 years since I overclocked any AMD CPU, so look for similar setups in the AMD overclocking thread.
http://www.techist.com/forums/f10/official-amd-overclocking-thread-162493/