Well, I think I just blew out my processor somehow

Status
Not open for further replies.

AcidicRage

Baseband Member
I smelled like a burning rubber smell..but I ignored it...and like 20 seconds later, computer shuts down. When I try to open it back, all I hear is a short "zzzz" and then it goes off. I don't even know what happened exactly. My computer has been working for 8 months, then it just suddenly breaks.

Well, everything looks fine. I'm no computer expert, but I see that everything looks connected and stuff. The power supply is hot. Is that normal? Maybe it won't power up because of the power or something? mm... nothing is burnt as I can see it. For some reason, everything else appears fine... The LEDs on the mouse/ethernet ports are on. Its just the whole computer wont "power" on.. maybe power supply?

my case is a Signa ATX42-500 that came with a 300Watt power

Diagnosis:

Your power supply is....... dead.

I may suggest getting one of higher quality, preferably from Antec or Enermax.

Is it easy to install power supply? I have no knowledge in building computers or have ever build one. It is the big square on the top back of your computer correct? The one where it has a fan in it. You use screws to unscrew it?

And if you happen to use one of those really crappy mini-tower cases, you may need to remove all panels which cover the case in order for the PSU to be removed.

I believe you must take precautions when handling with electrical parts. I've read a few guides and they mention something about "grounding" yourself.. I know this may sound stupid, but does grounding mean touch any metal nearby so that the static will flow out of you or something?

Well, I went out and bought a $60 Antec 350watt power supply. It fixed the problem. So it was the power supply. And for some reason this power supply has additional fans and better than the crap I was using before. So now my temps are like 10 degrees lower.