Setting up dual dlisplay with a NVidia Ge4 MX 4000 graphics card...

Status
Not open for further replies.

sspeedy00

Beta member
Hello everyone!
First post here :) I'm a programmer who knows nothing about pc hardware etc., so my new year's resolution is to get more involved with pc/tech type things.

So I feel the need to setup dual display, since I have two monitors at work. I love having the extra screen space. My pc is a few years old, started off being a pure Gateway, then I think someone tried to tweak it a bit.. but still, a Gateway.

Ok, so it shows that I have an NVidia Ge4 MX 4000 graphics card (128 mb). I've done a search to see if this card supports dual display setup... and I'm not sure if I've found a clear answer. When I look at the back of the pc, I see the connection (vga?) and an s-vid output, but not a div one. Yet, in another spot, near where the keyboard/mouse plugs go in, I see a similar vga-type connection, where the monitor connection fits.

Does someone know if dual displays are even possible with this particular card? If anyone needs anymore info, let me know. Ask any qyestion. Keep in mind I'm not a tech-person, so be patient ;)

i think you got 1 intergrated VGA on your motherboard and 1 vga on your videocard. Dual vga display is compaiable on your computer.

hmm well first go to control pannel and go to the nvidia control panel. Next under display go to change display configeration. and use both displays. if u had an ATI card, dual moniter would be automitcally enabled

You will need to get a new GPU so that you will have two VGA ports or one VGA and one DVI or two DVIs. I remomend (If you are not a gamer) a nvidia 8400GS which is about £25. But really anycard with two video outputs would be fine. Once you have both your monitors hook 'em up and you can choose whether you can extend the desktop over two screens or duplicate one etc...its pretty simple to do.

nah 1 onboard and 1 agp card is enough