Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sandi

Solid State Member
Hello everyone!

I am pretty new to the forum so I guess I have to come clean and admit that I am a bit of a novice on the computer.
I couldn't begin to build my own. However, I have been popping in here every so often and find the forum very informative.

I joined the forum because I saw that there are some pretty savvy people out there who are willing to help someone find their way around.

I recently destroyed my Dell that was only three years old (to embarrassed to tell you how I did it):eek: Needless to say I'm a bit more cautious now! I managed to save my old hard drive and have hooked it up as an external. My problem is that it is a huge HD with windows XP on it (I am now running Vista home basic). I need to know how to reformat it to be used strictly for storage and how do I partition it?

Sorry for sounding so dumb.:laughing:
I appreciate any help you may offer.

Hi and welcome to TF.

Partition magic or the HP external media utility (at least i think its called that) will help you format the old drive.

Hi and welcome to tech forums.

Partition magic or the HP external media utility (at least i think its called that) will help you format the old drive.

Thanks Chris.

Are they dificult to use? I mean, do I have to actually "Know" the lingo?

No both are very easy to use GUI based (Graphical user interface) a few clicks and you will be ready to go, it's far easier than the command line (Dos screen) way of doing it.

If you run into problems post in the relivent section and we will do our best to help.

Actually, you should be able to format it in Windows. Go into My Computer, right-click the drive, and choose format (that's how XP does it). Vista is supposed to have some built-in partitioning tools... ask in the Windows forum.

yeah I was about to say, you could use the control panel and administrative tools, but I dont know if it is the same for vista...