no-subscription Tivo style DVR??

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mike521

Solid State Member
Hey all, I've been looking for some thoughts on digital video recorders, so hopefully this topic is ok for these forums.

I'm wanting to buy a DVR but I'm definitely not going to spend any money on a subscription for something that's basically going to be a high quality vcr for me.

Does anyone know of a dvr that doesn't require a subscription?

I'm very new to the DVR situation, so any other tips and pointers would be great too

I sold a computer to a guy who was an electrical/mechanical engineer. he told me he had a TIVO box and that he could download updates for free (probably from the internet, try google for this info) so maybe you should look into this before totally ruling out that possibility of getting a TIVO.

what do these updates do? I don't need updates, I just want a high quality recording device that I can program to record on schedule, and maybe occasionally pause live tv.. I don't know what the updates are but I don't need to be updating my vcr every month that's for sure..

I'll do some searching for free tivo updates though, thanks

I think it is the subscription updates. I beleive they are the updates that tell the tivo machine what shows are available so you can schedule whatever shows you want to record. I have never used TIVO, but from my talk with this guy he made it clear you do not need to pay for the TIVO service to use it. he may have mentioned some kind of TIVO patch/ hack so you should also look into this too.

ohh well that's great to hear, I'll look into a hack if necessary but preferrably I can use it without subscribing, I'll email their customer service and see what they say