An LCD monitor to finish off my gaming setup...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mark1413

Baseband Member
well, i know very little about monitors, i have been using my 17' CRT hp monitor for the past 6 years. I love this baby, but obviously its time for a long overdue upgrade... I have an 8800gt 512mb, so ill be able to handle any resolutions that will be in my price range.

here are my needs: a fairly cheap, BANG FOR THE BUCK monitor.

i am looking to spend no more than $220 USD. but i would like to go as cheap as i can... like i know i can find something decent for 180ish, so that would be preferred, b/c i need to start saving up some money for tuition... lol

i would like it to be a 19' widescreen, but if you can find a bigger one, i wont complain (i did see a 20' samsung OPENBOX on newegg... but it said no accessories are included, so i would need a DVI cable also).

i think i would like to run 1650x1050, but i guess 1440x900 is okay too. I have been looking at a 1280x1024 for the past 6 years so im pretty sure ill be happy either way.

Ok, i can type a lot so ill really try to keep my rambling to a minimum.

my main concerns are with the stats. I have no idea what the difference b/w 300 and 350 cd/m2 is... i think it measures brigthness... but other than that i dont know wtf its for, and would i even be able to notice the difference?

the contrast ratio, most of the 19 and 20' monitors that are in my price range are like 500:1 to 800:1... some are 1000:1, but anyways, will i be able to SEE a difference from 700:1 to 800:1, cause this is what most of them are.

now for colors, most are either 16.2mil, but with 800:1 contrast, or 16.7mil with 700:1 contrast, so i dont know which way to pick, and once again, WILL I NOTICE ANY DIFFERENCE? lol