new heatsink

Status
Not open for further replies.

mark1413

Baseband Member
well, im ordering an artic cooler 64 pro to bring down the temps of my 6000+ b/c its fairly hot with the stock heatsink (duh).

i know it comes with some pre-applied thermal paste/pad thingy on there... but i am a TOTAL noob when it comes to this stuff.

here are my questions:
should i buy some more thermal compound like artic silver 5 or artic cooling mx2? and will this help that much?

what do i need to remove the existing thermal compound that come with the stock heatsink which is now all over my cpu? and how do i do this? is it as simple as grabbing a paper towl and wiping it off?

When buying the Arctic Cooler heatsinks, they already come pre-applied with MX-1. So you won't need to buy thermal paste.

mark1413 said:
what do i need to remove the existing thermal compound that come with the stock heatsink which is now all over my cpu? and how do i do this? is it as simple as grabbing a paper towl and wiping it off?

For future reference, you need isopropyl alcohol 70-99%. And a lint free cloth. Just dab some on the thermal paste or pad, wait 30 seconds, and wipe away.

the Thermal Pads are a little worse than the Thermal Paste, Newer revisions of the AF64 come with MX-2 older ones come with MX-1, so you can remove AS5 off the list, get some MX-2 in case you have hte MX-1 thermal pad

usually for the thermal compound people recommend isothyl alcohol to remove it

EDIT: b1gapl beat me to it ;)

ok well, i got my heatsink today and just finished putting it.... was a little difficult to get the little notches to get onto the thing, but it went successfully. now how long does it take this stuff to "set". b/c i am currently seeing the same temps that i got with the stock heatsink....

im getting 40ish deg cel IDLE...

i just did a 15min cpu burn in test and it only got to 48 top... and w/ the stock it hit 57... so i guess its an improvement.