Q6600

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zanjo

In Runtime
Hi all,

I'm looking at upgrading my PC and I want to make sure the parts I get can overclock well together. What I'm thinking of at the moment is:

-Q6600 2.4Ghz Intel G0 SLACR CPU
-2x2GB DDR2 800Mhz RAM (Generic)
-Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3 Motherboard - GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Specification - GA-P35-DS3 (rev. 1.0)

I have the other parts already but I don't think they are entirely relevant so I won't bother posting them. I'm quite new at overclocking, but I roughly understand it. The Q6600 has (at stock) a multiplier of 9x and an FSB of 266Mhz. So from what I understand, with the said parts I should be able to get the FSB up to 400Mhz bringing the total speed to 3.6Ghz (theoretically, and not higher as the generic RAM won't overclock very much at all, 800mhz / 2 = 400.) Are there any problems with this configuration? Will the total FSB become 1600Mhz if the FSB is at 400Mhz and is quad pumped? (I don't really understand this bit.) Any other suggestions?

Thanks in advance!

Another part you may be missing, if you haven't chose one already, is an aftermarket heatsink. And for this, I would definitely suggest the Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme (no fan included). Then just get a 120mm fan. And don't forget to buy aftermarket thermal paste. Arctic Cooling MX-2.

As far as the other parts, it's possible to reach your goal.

And yes, the effective frequency of the FSB will be 1.6GHz, since the FSB is quad pumped.

Hi b1gapl,

Thanks for your reply. I will certainly look at aftermarket cooling when I'm overclocking! The motherboard I'm looking at supports a maximum FSB of 1333mhz, does this mean it will not be able to handle the CPU when it's effective FSB is 1600mhz or does 1333mhz refer to the non quad pumped frequency?

Thanks for your help!