Overclocking my new rig.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toryn

In Runtime
So I've finally got everything sorted, my first build and I've been at it for about 7hrs :p

Thats installing everything twice (forgot the thermalright ultra 120 mounting bit needs to go under the mobo *first*) and installing, patching sorting out sound and myriad drivers.

And now, I want to OC :D

Unfortunately I've never done it before, and I tried earlier but got worried that I'd done something wrong and reset it to defaults :p.

Basically can anyone help me with everything I need to know to overclock my Q6600 (on a gigabyte P35C DS3R if that helps) and my 8800GTS 512MB. From what programmes needed to what I need to turn off in the bios.

A lot I know, but I wanna make sure I dont do something monumentally stupid, again.

Thanks in advance, and if I'm slow in replying its because I walking around in an oblivion gate gawping.

You want to first, disable the C1E and EIST function in the Advanced BIOS features. This disables the power saving features, from lowering your CPU's speed, when idling.

You should also disable any devices on the motherboard, that won't be in use. Such as the floppy drive, serial, and/or parallel ports. You can disable the floppy in the Standard CMOS Features. And you can disable the serial and parallel ports in the Integrated Peripherals menu.

Then go to the M.I.T. Set the System Memory Multiplier to 2.00. This will set the memory and the FSB to run at the same speed for a 1:1 ratio, just to make this overclocking easy and basic.

Enable the CPU Host Clock Control, to change the CPU Host frequency. This is the FSB. So you increase it by 10+. Usually increases the CPU's speed by 100MHz or so.