File saving issues with Win2k and Excel 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

rjj130

Beta member
Hi there all. I'm new to this board as this is my first post.

I'm a network tech here at a company, small >100 clients, and I am dumb founded by this latest problem.

On one of our job sites (construction) we have an older Dell running Win2K along with Office 97. The client explained it to me like this.

1. He opened a file he opens every week (timesheetxxyyzz.xls) x= month y=day z=year
2. He then fills out his sheet appropriately and does File>Save As>Re-names File>Save.
3. He noticed it for the first time today that when he went back into 'My Documents' the file was not there.

I had him do Start>Search>'File Name' and it found it in 'My Documents'. (The same My Documents)

Next I had him try to re-save the file to the 'Desktop' and it worked perfectly. Dropped it into 'My Documents' and it was there.

Had him open it, 'Save As' another name and it saved fine, however again it was not in 'My Documents'

This is a very puzzling problem and was wondering if anyone else had this same experience?

Thanks in advance.

The first thing that popped in my mind after reading your post is that with a multi-user OS like W2K, it's very possible that you are looking at "My Documents" of another user. Is there more than one person who uses
this particular PC or are other user accounts on this PC?

No, it is a standalone account. Only his.

Also, with 'My Documents' we standardize them on the computers to C:\My Documents to reduce on profile load when on a networked environment here in the office. That way if someone has a huge 'My Documents' folder for some reason it's not going back and forth on the network when logging on/off.

Thanks for the quick response though.

How did you change the path to "My Docs" folder? Did you use the group editor policy management console?