Another Q6600 overclock help thread...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Twizted_3kgt

Daemon Poster
I'm pretty new to overclocking, but not completely. I played around for a few hours and got it stable at 3.0ghz. I'll just provide a CPUz screenshot rather than try to figure out what I have everything set at. Just from tinkering with it I feel like the memory is limiting me. If I set the memory voltage any higher than 1.9v I get a BSOD either on inital boot up or as soon as I start a program in XP (32-bit) it seems.

I don't fully undestand everything, but I have the FSB "unlinked" from the memory speed in my BIOS. Anything over 800mhz for the memory and I have to reset the CMOS because it doesn't turn on. And anything over 3.0ghz and it freezes or doesn't pass SuperPi or Prime95 for more than a few seconds. Where I have it at now seems completely stable. Temps on the cores haven't gone above 61*C under Prime95 for 10 minutes.

Sound like memory limiting to anyone? I have the timings at 5-5-5-15 1T

As for the "VID" listed in CoreTemp, can I change that?? Nothing I do in BIOS seems to make it change for me. I noticed other people's were lower than mine.

Also SpeedFan doesn't register the correct temperatures, they're all 10*C low for me, anyway to fix that?

I'm hoping to see the 3.6ghz mark.

CPUINFO.jpg

Do not set the memory voltage more than what the manufacturer states. 1.9v is default for that RAM, so you should leave it at that. Anymore, might damage it. Especially if it's not high performance RAM.

You should try running the RAM and FSB together, for a 1:1 ratio. Rather than ramping up the RAM speed past the FSB.

And if you want to get past 3GHz, you should increase the CPU voltage by one notch at a time, until it becomes stable in Prime or Orthos.

Very nice wallpaper by the way....Your's?

ok, i see you are running a 680i..so imma help you out some since i have the same board and the same cpu

first go into the BIOS and put these settings: