Should Switch to VISTA or not ??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Most likely. But i've never built my own rig before...and felt I could make an *** of it and blow 2K...so decided to buy pre-built. :(

Its not all bad though, a factory overclocked QX6850 thats warrented for 3 years, even while O/C'd :)

XP is good. Vista isnt that bad either. SP1 isnt gonna be a big thing like everyone thinks. Yes it will give you some, i repeat this SOME, performance boost but it will not make Vista as fast as XP. Nor will any SP ever do that. Why? Cause Vista is coded differently using a fully bloated kernel.

Honestly you should save the $$ and wait for Server 2008 to be released. It runs as fast if not faster than XP. It has the updated kernel and protection that Vista does and it also can get the Aero and other goodies that Vista has.

Personally i triple boot. XP/Vista/Ubuntu. I use whatever one i am in the mood for. Right now it is ubuntu cause i dont feel like gaming and it is secure for me to go anywhere on the net. I will go to Vista tomorrow since i have somethings to test out. I will probably be in XP for the new year.

It is personal preference. If you dont like XP or Vista then go with Linux. If you cant find a WiFi driver then i would say stick with XP as you have the best shot at everything on that for now.

XP is good. Vista isnt that bad either. SP1 isnt gonna be a big thing like everyone thinks. Yes it will give you some, i repeat this SOME, performance boost but it will not make Vista as fast as XP. Nor will any SP ever do that. Why? Cause Vista is coded differently using a fully bloated kernel.

Honestly you should save the $$ and wait for Server 2008 to be released. It runs as fast if not faster than XP. It has the updated kernel and protection that Vista does and it also can get the Aero and other goodies that Vista has.