Alienware vs Falcon Northwest

Status
Not open for further replies.
wow lots of.....how can i say it...."i'm new to building but i'm giving advice to newbies anyways" on this post

Proc: q6600 + watercooling, you won't go below 3.3 with your overclock, it is a very overclockable chip especially when watercooled
i'm not a big WC expert so i'll give that task to somebody else
ino dangerden and swifttech are the best

Video:
first of all which resolution would you like to play at?
i'd say get this
Newegg.com - EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS (G92) 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
if your at 1920 x 1200 or higher get 2 of them if its in your budget
but one is high performing as well.

RAM
2gb of ram is plenty for gaming on windows xp and linux
but if you go vista you will get a noticable increase in speed with 4gb
just make sure you have 64-bit
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
^^
these are the most overclockable and best RAM around
get 2 sets of them if you want 4gb
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail
^^
same thing but with lights

Case
with watercooling and big gfx card your going to want a full tower
here are the popular ones

Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER Stacker RC-832-KKN1-GP Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail
Newegg.com - Thermaltake Armor Series VA8003BWS Black Full Tower Case w/ 25CM Fan - Retail
Newegg.com - XCLIO Windtunnel Fully Black Finish 1.0 mm SECC Chassis ATX Full Tower Computer Case - Retail (you have to add a couple fans to this one ino

HDD
your going to want a RAID setup

g2g i'll finish later

clock speeds matter very little nowadays, I mean a Core 2 Duo e6600 (2.4ghz) beats a AMD Athlon 6000+ (3.0ghz), so