Please help me teach my computer-illiterate parents!

Status
Not open for further replies.

paco joe

Solid State Member
My parents are old-fashioned people who know next to nothing about computers and Windows. They actually have a lot of experience browsing the web, but with WebTV's. I hate those odious devices.

I've been trying to get them used to working with files and folders in Windows Vista, and using Firefox and all that, but I don't think I have enough time to help them get really comfortable with it. If they're not comfortable with it, they'll probably just stick with their damned WebTV's. I could go on and on describing these people, but they're kind of resistant to change.

Is there a book or something out there that is good for teaching complete noobs how to use a computer? "Windows Vista for Dummies" or something like that? For a while I was thinking something along the lines of the "Video Professor" CD's or something like that, but I have my suspicions of that specific company.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks!

From my experience, people who dont want to learn never will. My Mom is on of these people who will just never use the technology unless she is forced to. In answer to your question try looking for something call the PC doctor, or wizard, I remember a lot of commercial with him showing peopel how to learn to use computers. It was a pretty simple explination of how to do that stuff, but I dont know if they have a vista lesson or not, its worth a shot.

Paco,