A few more questions about OC'ing

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheGlazer

In Runtime
It's my first time Overclocking and things have been going well so far (I spent a lot of time reading posts from this forum/other forums/reviews/etc.) But there's a few things I need to get cleared up.

1.) In my BIOS, when I set my Vcore to lets say 1.3; it doesn't show 1.3 in CPU-Z. I read this as being called Vdroop......... I use a P5B Deluxe and read the pencil trick to minimize this significantly. My question is: what is my Vcore really at? 1.3 (Indicated by BIOS)? or 1.265 (Indicated by CPU-Z)?

2.) I read that the C2D chips are best set at Synchronous timings (1:1). Setting them at Asynchronous timings will cause minimal performance gains with a lot more heat, which isn't worth it. Is this true?

3.) I just bought my Tuniq Tower 120, and was wondering which case to re-locate my System in. An Antec900 or P182? (I am not going to modify the case after I buy it) I've read a lot of reviews on both, and was curious what some of the more knowledgable members on this forum think.

Thanx for your time and help so far; OC'ing has become addictive, haha.

both are great cases with great airflow(so ive heard, i own a 900 and it was great), and it looks like they'd both fit the tuniq tower.

the fact that the p182 has a solid door (no vents) and a front intake fan confuses me...

its up to you on looks, mostly. i have a feeling people will lean more towards the 900 (probably the most reccomended case on these forums)

the only big complaint ive really seen about the 900 is that cabling gets a bit messy because theres no pre-drilled holes in the motherboard tray.

ummm.. the front grill gets very dusty very fast?

you can't mount a side intake fan with newer video cards?

psu is bottom mounted(so is the p182's) - not really sure why that's an issue because my psu worked just fine mounted at the bottom... maybe cable length on their psu?

what kind of modding do you mean?