Help me pick a video card and Ram. (Still total noob)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rakie

In Runtime
Alright, I set out to get a new MOBO/CPU, Monitor and Ram for the mobo, and then decided a new graphics card would be nice... So here we go.

I've decided on this so far.

Monitor: Samsung 226BW 22" widescreen LCD
MOBO: Asus M2V-MX SE
CPU: AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000 AM2

So, what I need:
2 gigs ram
Video card up to $200 (not too much over that)

Again, im studying to become a sound engineer, so i'll be recording and mixing studio quality CD's, I also game a fair bit, but im not looking to play Crysis on max settings, a great "Bang for the buck" card is what im looking for, but if there is something thats really *That* amazing for a little bit more, i'll definitely consider it.

I never planned on OC the processor (A sin I know) so I am actually very happy with this MOBO/CPU combo so don't worry about that :D

Last thing. PLEASE put a link to the item you recommend, I really am pretty nooby with PC's.

Thanks very much for reading :D

If you are adamant about not overclocking then AMD is fine...otherwise Intel is a MUCH better choice...especially if you will be encoding sound files and stuff.

Anyway...200 dollars for memory AND a video card is cutting it a bit close. If you can stretch to 250 you might be able to get an 8800GT and 2gb of ram....

If you are adamant about not overclocking then AMD is fine...otherwise Intel is a MUCH better choice...especially if you will be encoding sound files and stuff.

Anyway...200 dollars for memory AND a video card is cutting it a bit close. If you can stretch to 250 you might be able to get an 8800GT and 2gb of ram....

$200 just for the video card, you miss read it. I edited it to make it a little more clear.

And yea, im not going to OC, and the mobo this come's with is incapable of OC'ing, i've also been told AMD's don't have much headroom for OC'ing.