New to Forum and need a bit of help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shauk25

Solid State Member
Let me preface im not a computer expert but i can do some things, ram, and video card and sound cards. I can do fans but i cant do all things.

So my buddy has this old computer than runs very badly so i look and see and he has only 256 ram and he is running xp so i know xp is eating alot of that memory.

So i have told him i can upgrade the ram, little did i know how old the board was he has rimm chips 2 128 chips and 2 little green chips that i guess are there jus so it will work.

I dont know how to tell the board and such, he has a pentium processor and i want to also install a new video card.

He said stay around 300 bucks, soo im figuring he news a whole new mb for the 2 gigs of ram i want to get him, ddr and a bit of other things.

I looked up rimm and its WAY more expensive than ddr, so what suggestions would you do

Thanks in Advance

If your looking to upgrade the mobo (looks like youd have to) then theres little we can do without knowing the other computer components.

However, I can take a guess and say if the mobo needs upgrading then in all likely hood so will everything else. In which case $300 wont cover it and your basically left needing to build a new computer.

So save some more, try for a ball park of $600 and that'll give him enough to run a decent computer, not top of the range but undoubtedly a huge upgrade to what he is currently using

Welcome to the forum!
It's usually smarter to build your own system then buy a prebuilt. It is much cheaper and a lot easier then you think. If you would like, I (or someone here) can set up a parts list for you to look at. Although your friend might need to raise a couple hundred more $$.