Help with gaming comp build for 2008

Status
Not open for further replies.

chrisx706

Beta member
I've done some research for my gaming computer. I need some suggestions or comments on what I've built so far.

1. Antec 900 case or thermaltake armor
2. intel quad q6600
-zalman or thermalright cpu cooler
3. evga Geforce 8800gt 512mb
4. Samsung dvd burner on Newegg.com for $31.99
5. WD Caviar 750gb
6. Gigabyte P35 LGA Mobo or Abit IP35 Pro LGA mobo. Might want to SLI in the near future. Any suggestions?
7. Seasonic S12 Energy plus 650w OR PC power and cooling silencer 750 quad
8. Crucial Ballistix 2GB DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)
8. Samsung 226BW 22" OR something cheaper that will work with this system

I'm pretty set on the gpu and cpu, but would and can change anything else on the list. All suggestions are welcome because I'm new to DIY build a gaming computer. Is anyone running a similar system? If so, what has worked and what has not worked? Thanks in advance.

Looks like a top quality build to me...appears as if you have excellent taste in hardware.

Personally, I'd steer clear of SLI. Also I would choose the IP35-Pro over the Gigabyte...really is an excellent motherboard.

Great Build. I would difinitely get the Samsung monitor. I used to have a Samsung but switched to the gateway I have on my sig. Both works perfect. No problems whatsoever and no dead pixels yet.

Why steer clear of SLI? Isnt it better then a single graphics card? I know this isnt a laptop hes building but when I get my new computer I plan on SLI in a laptop so if you could tell me why its bad Id be greatful, Thanks.

Why steer clear of SLI? Isnt it better then a single graphics card? I know this isnt a laptop hes building but when I get my new computer I plan on SLI in a laptop so if you could tell me why its bad Id be greatful, Thanks.