Upgrading RAM in laptop, NEED ADVICE.

Status
Not open for further replies.

c_los

Solid State Member
Hi everyone, quick question.

I checked the Dell (before you yell at me that I can't do anything with a Dell, plz read my post) site for my laptop and of course it says that my computer handles a max of 2gb RAM and has a sucky BIOS I can't really do anything about.

Then I used a bios/mobo checker from esupport.com to identify my chipset and bios model and discovered that I'm using a modified Phoenix-Award BIOS and that my computer supports 4gb RAM.

Now, trusting this info would it be possible to download a full-featured or updated Phoenix-Award BIOS and also install 4gb of RAM? (Under x64 OS of course)

I'm new to some hardware aspects of computing.
Thank you for your time.

No. You have to stick with the Dell BIOS. You can't reflash. The max is 2gb ram. Also, even if its possible. The processor isnt 64-bit compatible.

Ok man, I'm pretty sure Core 2 Duo's are 64bit. Also, the original motherboard company is telling me that my comp can support 4gb - Why then?

And yes I can reflash, there are BIOS update from Dell itself.
Not to mention the only reason dell bios is said to be "unupdatable" is because dell won't release the binaries necessary for a custom bios. However, knowing the original manufacturer of the motherboard (before dell got their hands on it) lets me find a bios for said motherboard. I'm looking to verify this information.

Seriously, don't just give me the usual dell-suxx0rz crap. I need some answers.

I have to ask, why isn't 2GB enough?

I have 512mb on my desktop and it works pretty well. On top of that 2gb is pretty much the standard for PCs as far as I can tell. Most people on here say that 2GB is enough.

How fast is the ram? Maybe you could get faster ram?

If you computer is going slow then make sure you're free of trojans and spyware.