computer build help/suggestions

Status
Not open for further replies.

burtonsnow8

Solid State Member
whattup!

So my current computer is old...and well its just **** slow. I'm looking into building my own computer for a couple reasons: I think its much cheaper than buying from dell, hp, and others (conformation of this would be appreciated), it will be faster than most computers i could buy from those companies anyways, and i get a cool free case :) lol. Well since this is my first build, I would definitely like some help with components to make sure i have all the right stuff and won't run into compatibility issues.

This computer will be used for a multiple range of things. I work on projects at home occasionaly, using ps3, dreamweaver, adobe flash etc and as well will use for some pc gaming (looking into getting CoD4). Of course i will play music and videos occasionally, but most likely not for editing.

Here is what i'm looking at purchasing (or view specs below):

Newegg.com - Western Digital Raptor WD1500ADFD 150GB 10,000 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150 Hard Drive - OEM

Newegg.com - ASUS L1N64-SLI WS Dual L (1207FX) NVIDIA nForce 680a SLI MCP SSI CEB AMD Motherboard - Retail

Newegg.com - Thermaltake Armor Extreme Edition VA8004BWS Black 1.0mm SECC Chassis/ Aluminum Front Bezel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 FX-74 Windsor 3.0GHz 2 x 1MB L2 Cache Socket F (1207 FX) DSDC Architecture Processor - Retail

Newegg.com - Rosewill RX750-D-B ATX12V v2.2 & EPS12V v2.91 750W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL,FCC,CSA,CB,CE,TUV,ROHS - Retail

Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

As well i currently have a nvidia 6800 which i will swap to this computer. As far as price range, anywhere in the 800-1400 works for me. Is there anything that should be upgraded? Is there any items that are overkill and could be downgraded?