Should I dual boot with Ubuntu?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hehe I dual booted my computer with Ubuntu at home, at school, and on one of my teachers laptops.
and the only reason I dual booted it at school is because that computer is pretty much mine for the next year and a half, and the other reason is cause I had to put another computer at my station, It's a dell optiplex 210L, and he had me reformat and install windows xp on that one and on two more of my friends computers. My computer operating systems teacher loves me and I just started the class in august so I'm only in the first semester class and know more than the people that have been in there for about one to two years now. But I self taught myself at most things and I did research on the internet and that's how I found Ubuntu, and I like it I can't wait to try out the others.

you do know about "wine" right???? you can use most windows software and games on linux now. Some games are also designed and retailed for linux aswell but you have to pay for the big titles obviously
Of course I know about Wine. I've used it as much as anyone. But when you make people believe that they can run any Windows app or game using Wine, you're misleading them. Some apps work with Wine out of the box, some apps require tweaking with dll's etc., and some apps just do not work well at all. Games are hit and miss. You can't just tell someone that we have Wine, so you don't have anything to worry about. I've been through my share of problems getting certain popular games to work with the latest version of Wine, and usually after all of that work, it ends up not working as well as it does in Windows. You can mostly forget about running any of the latest and greatest games with Wine. I also know about Cedega. You pay a monthly fee to be able to play the games that you already payed a high price for and it ends up not being much better than the free Wine.