Help with my machine! (Graphic designer).

Status
Not open for further replies.

CixXy

Beta member
I'm a graphic designer who multitasks a lot (i.e open photoshop, illustrator, dreamweaver, bridge) at the same time... and later on i will be doing some 3D rendering work. I also play games on my spare time. Need to upgrade my hunk of junk! 1400mhz 256mb <-- 7 year old comp.

Got enough money to buy a computer on the weekend! But I'm just stuck at what motherboard to buy... any tips please?

I think i will get these:

Q6600 CPU
640MB 8800 GTS
500GB 7200rpm
3x1GB Corsair 667mhz

Okay well, I was wondering should I get the P5k asus or the P5k-E or the GA-P35. Now I have heard the P5k-E can overclock better but i will have to blow another AU$70.

I will have standard cooling in my computer though, so I think I would only go to about 2.6ghz anyway on the q6600 right?
Another thing, should I stay with 640MB 8800 GTS or go with 320MB 8800 GTS? OR blow another AU$100 or so for a GTX?

Also , a store clerk recommended the BFG nForce mobos , I wonder if these are good?

Thanks for any good advice.

Go for the Gigabyte P35, make sure this is the Harddrive you're getting (it's the fastest 500GB I know of) Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 (Perpendicular Recording) ST3500630AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM . Get this CPU cooler, Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail and you an overclock your Q6600 easily to 3.0ghz which will help you a lot when you're going to do 3d rendering. Since you're doing design work, you should get at least a 22" monitor, but this 24" is on sale and is definitely a good buy, I would highly recommend it if you're willing to spend a little more : Newegg.com - Westinghouse L2410NM Glossy Black 24" 8ms Widescreen LCD Monitor 500 cd/m2 1000:1 Built in Speakers - Retail

If you want to do 3D work, go with an Nvidia Quadro series card. I would go with the ga-p35.