Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

termination_bliss

Solid State Member
Hello =]

I am a noob looking to build my first gaming computer pretty soon:D. My budget is around $1,500, and I get really confused on what parts to choose lol. I would like something that will play most of the new games, and will need little ugrades in the next couple of years. Any info and suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Hey Termination_bliss
Welcome-to-TF.png

$1500 is a nice big budget to work with. So here is a list of parts, I would recommend:

Case - Your choice...
Motherboard - Abit IP35 Pro
CPU - Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz OEM (From ClubIT.com)
RAM - 2 x 1GB Crucial Ballistix DDR2-800
Graphics - EVGA 8800GTX 768MB
Power Supply - Corsair 550VX
Hard Drive - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
Optical Drive - Sony NEC Optiarc DVD Burner
Optional Aftermarket HSF - Tuniq 120 (From svc.com)

This is just the tower. That's not including monitor, keyboard & mouse, and speakers. Do you need the whole system?

If your monitor is about 19"-22", than I'd suggest the EVGA 8800GTS 320MB. A bigger screen than that, go with the GTX.

If you need an OS, and you're wanting to play the new games, then go for Vista Home Premium.

I would personally stay away from Vista. As a techie myself, I've had some major issues with it (factory systems coming out non-compliant, software issues with some older programs) and frankly, the security seems to be tight, but overall it's rather annoying to have to click through all the bs to get to the file you want to download! go XP unless you are wanting DirectX 10. the system above seems to be pretty sound, and should be well within your price range. what games will you be handling on it?:cool:

He mentioned that he wanted to play new games, so that's why I suggested Vista.