112C on my Q6600??

Status
Not open for further replies.

csaefong

In Runtime
Okai my computers been shuting itself off everysince i got windows vista ultimate i am running it on the stock heatsink today it got bad computer was on for about 6-10 hours and then it started turning off by itself happend about two times i think it even fryed one of my usb ports on my MOBO because the keyboard wasint responding it had power but didn't respond when i put the mouse usb into the port it was working fine so i don't know about that and when i went to my bios to check tempature the CPU read 110C im not that good with computers but isint this tempature very dangerous i plugged in my 2nd cd rom today but i doubt thats the problem do you guys think its the vista?This never happened when i was running XP PRO OS well i shut the computer off to let it cool should i go get a new heatsink?

112C would be really bad for your CPU if that is a correct temp. I don't think it would run if it got that hot.

I would take the heatsink off clean up the heat sink and CPU. Then reapply thermal paste and reinstall heatsink.

The BIOS being the most accurate for temperature readings, that is definitely dangerous......Dangerous enough to damage the CPU, if you let it run at that temperature, for long periods of time. Get a new heatsink, stat!...as well as thermal paste, if you haven't any.

I believe the TJunction or threshold, according to Core Temp, is 100C.