Building a computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

CypriotPryde

Solid State Member
Hey. I'm goin to college next year for computer science, so I want a really nice computer. I'm not an extreme techie or anything (i'm more into programming) but I'm not a complete noob when it comes to hardware.

First off, does anyone here have a suggestion on what computer/parts i should get, like maybe a site with a computer building tutorial. I wanna build this computer on my own. This computer is gonna be used for gaming, programming, creating and compiling maps and games, and a whole other array of stuff, so it's gotta be really powerful. My budget is about $2000. Anyone have any suggestions?

Also, I can't decide on whether to get a 32-bit or a 64-bit processor. The thing is... I'm a real Intel guy. I used to have an AMD and I hated it. But Intel hasn't come out with a 64-bit processor yet. The reason I'm saying this is that when Longhorn comes out, I want to have a 64-bit computer so I can get it right away. I'm thinking of getting a cheap Pentium for now, until Intel comes out with a 64-bit, which should probably be before Longhorn comes out. I guess the thing I'm tryin to find out here is, when are Longhorn and Intel's 64bit coming out. Anyone have any idea?

I have to decide on the parts, order them, wait for them to be delivered, build the computer, and install all my software and transfer files from my old computer in about a month (i'm leaving for college August 9th, but I want to have this dones by around the 5th) So I gotta do everything pretty fast.

AMD is great, they are so much better than they used to be. My computer, when you can see in my sig, is great, and can play games like FarCry flawlessly. I paid around $2000 for it ($1975 to be exact).

Definatly!...! I used to use Intel my whole life until a couple weeks ago. I bought an AMD64, and let's just say... I am never going to go back to Intel!