First attempt at building from scratch.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Heh awesome, that means I can get a better mouse too ^^

No worries about negative posts, all feedbacks good feedback (even if its bad, whee oxymoron).

Also the "C" model was £4 cheaper but if theres a chance of things going dodgy I think I might be able to managed the extra £4 :p .

Hmm, if the PSU could probably do the GTX thingy as well, could I go to a 420W and still be fine? (also, how do you work that sorta thing out, so I can stop asking repetative questions :) )

Oh and thanks for all your help so far.

Well, if not sure about 'dodgy' happenings with the C. I have no experience, but I doubt it would be more that a little bit of extra fiddling required

Hrm. 450W would prolly do it, I'd verge on the 520W just to be on the safe side- I would've thought that rig would operate at 200-300W if that, but you need a bit more as there is maximum drain on bootup. I just go by what other people use. 520W would certainly give you a little more overhead for problems/ upgrade. What is important is that the power capcity is high on the +12V rail which is true for the 450. I reckon it would prolly be alright. The downer with the 450 is that it doesn't have modular cables, but thats not a huge problem.

hrm, maybe get a few more opinions to be sure, but yeah, it would leave room for more in your budget. I would suggest putting that into a better CPU, rather than a mouse, but thats your choice.

Alrighty then, dropped the mouse and am looking at an E6600 instead.

thanks for all your help, really looking forward to this now heh

Now I'm going to change your mind again. Did you know that the quad core Q6600 is cheaper than the E6600? The Q6600 is better, so that's strange to see how the pricing works.

What? thats just plain wrong.

the E6600 does seem overpriced though. You seem to be able to get an E6750 for less. Why is that now?