First attempt at building from scratch.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toryn

In Runtime
Hey everyone, long time lurker :cool:

Anyway this is my first attempt at building my own computer and I wanted to get your advise on the parts, heres what I've looked at and thought ooo;

Mobo - Gigabyte GA P35 DS3R
Graphics Card - ATI Radeon 1950 Pro
CPU - Intel Core Duo E6600
RAM - 2GB OcUK
HDD - 250GB Seagate 7200
Case - Antec 900
PSU - Corsair HX 520W

Buying it all from overclockers.co.uk with a budget of £600. Any feedback would be great, even if its "you have no idea how to pick parts", which would be totally understandable. :)

Trying to build it as a solid gaming machine that will last me sometime with as few upgrades as possible (preferably through the start of Uni :p )

*edit* changed the mobo and PSU to those suggested
*edit 2* changed the CPU.

everything looks good to go to me :) ... you could probably go for a lesser psu though.. unless you think you'll be needing it later on in the future for an upgrade

Good build, seems just a tad expensive though, considering that the conversion rate to British Pounds is 2.117 pounds to 1 canadian dollar. I spent $592 on the rig in my sig, that's about $550 US, and it included tax and shipping.

are computer parts just expensive in the UK?

I'd be a little worried getting OcUK own brand hardware. I have no idea how it would perform, but to me it just itches with 'wooo.. don't go there'. I thoroughly advise spending the extra tenner on this

Definitely worth the extra tenner.

As for the PSU, the HX520 should be more than sufficient. That'll save you a few quid

Any particular reason that you are going for the P35C-DS3R? you could just go with the non 'C' version (full scale DDR3 is still a while a way)

Definantly true.