First time poster/computer builder

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ariste

Solid State Member
Hey everyone. This is my first time posting here, and after endless suggesting from tech gurus everywhere, I've finally decided to take the plunge and attempt to build my own gaming PC. However, this being my first time, I'm sure that there are some things that I could improve upon/need more of/completely screwed up, so I would really appreciate any advice that you guys could give me. Here's what I have planned so far:

Case/PSU

Thermaltake XaserV Gaming Tower WinGo Full-Tower Case + Antec 550W Power Supply w/ 2 Fans

-$188.00 total

Motherboard
Gigabyte K8NSNXP-939 w/ nForce3 Ultra Chipset, Socket 939

-$232.00

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 3500+, 2.2GHz/512KB L2 Cache

-$498.00

Hard Drives
2 36.7GB Western Digital Raptors (RAID-0 format)

-$226.00 total

GPU
EVGA GeForce 6800GT w/ 256MB GDDR3

-$435.00

RAM
1GB (512MBx2) Corsair XMS Extreme Memory Speed Series DDR PC3200 (Twin Pack)

-$253.00

DVD/Floppy Drives
NEC 8x Dual Layer DVD +/- RW Drive + Sony 1.44MB 3.5 Inch Floppy Drive

-$96.98 total

Monitor/Speakers
ViewSonic G90FB 19" PerfectFlat CRT Monitor + Logitech X-620 6.1 Speakers

-$268.00 total

Keyboard/Mouse
Logitech Cordless MX Duo

-$75.00

OS
Microsoft Windows XP Professional w/ Service Pack SP1a

-$141.00

Total- 2437.73

That's what I have planned so far. The difference between the sum of the components I have listed and the total is due to wires and case lighting etc. As I said before, this is my first time, so I'm sure that there is room for improvement in this setup and I would really appreciate any advice that you guys have. Thanks,

That looks freakin awesome, way to go, but one quick question. Do you plan on having very many games because your HD is kinda on the small side, but maybe it is just me.

I suggest 2 of these instead:Western Digital Raptor 74GB 10,000RPM