I need a new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

whitedove

Baseband Member
My computer is giving me some trouble. I've been putting a lot of money in it because I'm afraid to try vista, but what if it goes completely out? Is it still possible to get a computer with XP? I need a moderatly priced computer. I use my computer alot and put it through a lot so I need something durable and dependable. I am a creative writer and do some greeting cards and simple graphic design and website building. I prefer Intel over AMD. I need one with a dvdrw/cdrw burner and also a dvd/cd it makes it easier for burning things. Heat is a problem I'm currently having 160 degrees is not uncommon. Any advice you could give me on a good brand would be great.
I currently have a gateway 510 xl which hasn't been too bad, but it has given me some problems and I need something really dependable.
Thanks Whitedove

You may desire to have Vista in the future but right now it's just too slow. Low-end computer = XP or Windows 98 for that matter.

My budget is 2500. I cannot build it myself I'm too busy at work. Where can I get a computer with XP on it. Or will have to find a copy of XP seperate and then have it installed?

Thanks Wendy

What you can do, is order parts, and have your local computer shop or a friend put it together. You can get an OEM copy of XP as well.

If you're up for that, I would suggest this list:

Case - Cooler Master Centurion 534
Motherbpard - Gigabyte P35-DS3L
CPU - Intel Core 2 Duo E4400 2.0GHz
RAM - 2 x 1GB Transcend AxeRAM DDR2-800
Graphic Card - ASUS HD 2400PRO 256MB
Power Supply - FSP (Fortron Source) AX400-PN 400W
Hard Drive - Western Digital Caviar SE 160GB
Optical Drive - Sony NEC Optiarc DVD Burner
OS - Windows XP Home SP2 OEM

Total is around $600+...You don't need a $2500 computer to do writing, greeting cards, simple web, and graphic design. This list of components can do all that, easily.