Building my own computer, possible?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AbdelRahman

Solid State Member
Hello,

I wanted to ask for a bit of information about building my own computer.
If I've never done it before, is it possible?

If so,
I'd like to ask about the components best for me to buy.
I would like my new computer to:

1) run programs like MATLAB, visual studio, OrCAD, spice and similar engineering and programming software swiftly and fast.
2) play videos.
3) multitasking without slowing down.
4) I'm not very interested in games.

It's worth mentioning that I'm in Egypt, so not all components are available for me.

Bye for now!

Hey AbdelRahman,

What the estimate of your budget? From the looks of what you want to do, this looks like a med-high priced budget. Here are parts to look for:

CPU - If you can afford, get the Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600. This will benefit you a lot, in programming and engineering software.

Motherboard - I'd suggest the Gigabyte P35-DS3R. It's a great motherboard, that isn't too expensive. And it's very upgradeable.

Memory - Look for brands like Crucial Ballistix, G. Skill, Patriot, or Corsair XMS2. And get 4GB of RAM, as this will help a lot, with the programs you're using. DDR2-800 is the speed, of the RAM you should be looking for.

Hard drive - Get a nice big hard drive. I'd suggest either the Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 500GB, the Samsung Spinpoint 500GB, or the Western Digital 750GB.

Graphic card - Will you be gaming? If not, a nice cheap graphic card, such as the HD 2400XT or HD 2600XT, will do.

Power supply - Look for brands like FSP (Fortron Source), Corsair 520HX or 620HX, XClio GREATPOWER 550w, SeaSonic S12 550w, Enermax, HIPER Type-R 580w, or Rosewill RP550 550w.

my budget is around 1000$.

but can i ask you guys a favor??

I'm really new to all this, but I'm willing to learn.

I want to understand what the processors' specifications indicate?
And what is the meaning of dual-core, quad-core?