AMD vs Pentium

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cogwork

In Runtime
There's a lot of discussion on these boards about which CPU type is better - Pentium vs AMD.

I know next to nothing about how these CPUs work or any of the terminology, so I don' know the reasons why, say, a 2 Gigahertz AMD can be faster than a 2.5 Gigahertz Pentium etc.

All I know is my crappy K6 2 500 is about the same as a Pentium 2 300, at least in terms of emulation and a few games. Is the opposite true for the current and recent generation of CPUs?

Ha rakesh, I read that thread and that's why I posted this one! - pipe line length and all that bobbins doesn't mean a thing to me. What do these terms mean, and why are they important?

Cogwork said:
Ha rakesh, I read that thread and that's why I posted this one! - pipe line length and all that bobbins doesn't mean a thing to me. What do these terms mean, and why are they important?

I'm not a hardware engineer but i think the pipeline that Rakesh mentioned are the main 'data channels', if you will, that transfers data from the processors' core to the L1/L2 cache back & forth

let me break it down, amd's are good for one thing.. speed. if you are looking for a good stock speed cpu, then get an amd.. you will not be dissapointed. their trick to beat intel cpu's at stock speeds is to shorten their pipe-line (as Lone Wolf stated, Data Channels), resulting in faster transfer then intel's..

Sounds good right? but what this results to is abnormal overheating.. even people who spend 40-50 dollars on cpu fans/heatsinks still get overheating problems.. (last summer my 1800+ UNDERCLOCKED cpu was reaching 60 celcius in the summer while my AC was on with a 40 dollar copper/alluminum/heatsink fan)