First Time Builder Seeking Advice and Help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Battlefront115

Baseband Member
I am new to building computers and this will be my first one. I spent my whole spring/summer saving my money to buy the componets for a new computer. I will manly use this computer for gaming. Please take a look at my build and feel free to post any suggestions. I am trying to cut this list down to make the computer cheaper without sacraficing performace or quality. Also, I want to make sure I didnt miss any componets I may need including cables for each componet, thermal grease, IDE or SATA cables (I am completely confused on the difference between the 2 and wether my motherboard come with enough cables) or any other things so please feel free to tell me if I am missing something.

Processor - E6750
Micro Center Online - the center of .computer shopping

Power Supply - Corsair 520 (I am looking to go cheaper on this but if it is possible I would prefer modular)
Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX ATX12V v2.2 and EPS12V 2.91 520W Power Supply 100 - 240 V UL, CUL, CE, CB, FCC Class B, TUV, CCC, C-tick - Retail

Motherboard - P35-DS3 (I noticed gigabyte offered cheaper versions and am unsure what the difference between them are)
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

Memory - Crucial Ballistix 2 x 1gb ddr2 800
Newegg.com - Crucial Ballistix 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Retail

Graphics Card - EVGA 8800GTS
Newegg.com - EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail

Hard Drive - Seagate 250gb 7200.10
Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

Case - NZXT Lexa
Newegg.com - NZXT LEXA BlackLine Black Steel / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

CD/DVD Burner - Samsung