Network cable causes lockup ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

s37d

Banned
Hi guys. I recently built a PC and have run into a (hopefully) small problem.

You see, if the network cable is plugged in, the computer wont boot. More specifically, it will power up, fans will go on, etc.,but there will be no signal sent to the monitor, and it doesn't sound like the hard drive is even being accessed. If I unplug the network cable from the motherboard or from the modem, though, the computer will then boot properly. But, once it's booted and in Windows, if I plug the cable back in, the computer freezes and goes to a black screen again. This is the fourth PC I've built, so I'm not too experienced. There's probably something I'm missing. Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Here are the stats:
I started with an old E-Machines case from another PC I stripped recently and used it as the base. List of what's within:

-ASUS P4V8X-MX Socket 478 VIA P4M800 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard
-Intel P4 3.0E Prescott Socket 478
-LITE-ON 20X DVD±R DVD Burner
-CORSAIR ValueSelect 512MB 184-Pin DDR SDRAM DDR 400 (PC 3200)
-Old Maxtor 40GB Hard Drive I had lying around

Thanks again

Alright, I found out what the problem was. I swapped in a network card from another pc just to see if it was the Mobo's network interface hub; the card worked fine. Apparently it's the network interface hub built into the motherboard that is malfunctioning. The Mobo is only about 5 days old, should I return it to Newegg for an exchange/refund or do you think there is some setting or reset button I can change to fix it? Thanks

Almost forgot...the mobo's network hub worked fine for the first day or so, then stopped working without me having changed any settings whatsoever.

Well, it's up to you if you rather use an Ethernet PCI card or use the built-in Ethernet hub. Personally, I would just use the built-in Ethernet hub to save a PCI slot and power.