I'm trying to build a comp...I need som help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

roadrunner1659

Baseband Member
First off i wanted to say hello to everyone out thier on these forums! Hopefully you all can lend me a helping hand so i can finally order a computer.

I'll begin by letting you all know what i am looking for:

I am a college student (but i live at home)...i'm looking for a desktop. I would like a computer that handles all of my students needs first and foremost (writing papers, creating powerpoints, internet...etc.)

Outside of the basic stuff, i want a computer from music, movies, games, and tv (i would like to hook up are verizon fios to my comp)...

Music is music not much to talk about their...im thinking a 7.1 sound card or running off of the motherboard...

Movies and TV...i would like to watch movies and television through my comp...i would like the picture to resemblethat clarity, sharpness, and bright colors of HD...

Games...i dont do alot of gaming but i have played CS on my brothers comp and i wouldn't hold it to me to play games on my comp (basically i would like the ability)

From their i will break it down into what i am looking for...hopefully you will be able to help from all of this!

Processor - atleast a Intel Core 2 Duo (i would like a fast computer)

Motherboard - a buddy of mine suggested the ASUS P5N-E SLI LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 650i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Screen - 20 to 24 inch screen (widscreen LCD flat panel) i would like a really good screen

DVD/CD Burner (i would like to be able to play HD DVD's if that doesn't cost an arm and a leg)...

Memory - im looking from anywhere between 250GB and 500GB (more the better)

Video Card - i picked out one of the higher end cards but i am not sure whether or not i truely need all of that card... EVGA 640-P2-N821-AR GeForce 8800GTS 640MB 320-bit GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card