engineering platform

Status
Not open for further replies.

apocalype81

Solid State Member
Guys,
I am a noob so please bear with me. I want to build up a desktop to do design and modeling on, focusing on automotive design and chasis engineering.. what components and software would you recomend? i understand the basic stuff but what do i need/not need.

yea there is. recently a guy made a case and its theme was like a car. he had like a air filter on it and everything. Like here take a look at this.. http://www.frozencpu.com/cgi-bin/frozencpu/ele-138.html?mv_pc=696 and take a look at this also, http://www.frozencpu.com/cgi-bin/frozencpu/bus-22.html so there is like a good selection. That case that the guy made had like a air filter on it so maybe u can hook up a fan to the air filter or somthing and make that the intake. So it will be a fan filter but also be a good design idea. You can also put some more switches and if ur a good electrician or u know someone is, u can actully take some stuff maybe like a NOS purge button and put it in there and somehow convert it so it makes a good on/off button. I dunno if this is what u meat but.. its good ideas.

If you were doing things like actual simulations or other things that a regular pc couldn't handle, then you might want to go with a dual processor computer. If it was just graphic design without the huge amount of processor demand that simulations have, then you could go with a P4 with hyperthreading.

OOOO i thought u ment like a theme.. o ok then yea i would get eaither a p4 with HT or a xeon..

lol monster.. you're crazy... i like you.. but.. you're crazy (old school).. anyways I totally agree with monsters' comments about which cpus to go for