Safe overclock speed?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haoming

Baseband Member
Hello,

So I finally got some very good suggestions on parts by fellow TFers. This is my first time building a PC & also the first time I will overclock. What's a light/safe/stable overclock for this setup or should I even overclock at all? Or should I just OC the CPU & not the GFX card?
This PC's for my dad so he won't be doing any gaming at all. I might use it every now and then for some games when friends come over though (BF2142, CS:S, CoD2, WC3TFT, NFS:MW) as well as some apps like Photoshop/Flash.

Case - Cooler Master Elite 330
Motherboard - Gigabyte GA-M61P-S3
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 3600+ Brisbane
RAM - 2 x 1GB G. Skill NQs
Graphics - EVGA 7600GT
Power supply - FSP (Fortron) 400w
Hard drive - Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
Optical drive - Sony NEC Optiarc DVD Burner
HSF - Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 64
OS - Windows XP Home
External Drive - Western Digital Passport WDXMS1200TN 120GB 5400 RPM USB 2.0 External Hard Drive - Retail

Thanks in advance!

For a non-gaming rig, you really won't need an Overclock, unless your pops is going to be doing some CPU intensive media rendering, or encoding audio/video alot.

My AMD 3500+ Venice core handles such things as WoW(well, when I used to play it) and Battlefield 2 without trouble... The 7600GT will be the weak spot when it comes to gaming I am thinkin.

OCing it will help speed it up with simple tasks though. I am pretty sure that most people can get that setup to around 3ghz. All you have to do is learn how to OC and if you do it right you should not run into any problems.