My first build...advice?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bankfishin

Baseband Member
I've been browsing this forum for the last several months periodically. Love the information and have learned quite a bit about hardware but still have no real experience building a computer. I will be using this system mainly for web development, light graphic design, and video processing. Mostly will be playing WOW, about the only game I spend time on. Please give me any suggestions where I might have more than I need and can cut my costs without any real performance drop. Also if you see an upgrade that will not blow my pocketbook but would be worth it please mention it. My budget is right around $1400. Would love to be able to drop it but don't mind going over a little if necessary.

Newegg wish list is here https://secure.newegg.com/NewVersio...hListNumber=6246866&WishListTitle=knord+build

And here are the parts....am I missing anything?

LIAN LI PC-7A plus II Silver Aluminum ATX Mid Tower Computer Case - Retail

GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Retail

EVGA 320-P2-N811-AR GeForce 8800GTS 320MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card - Retail

XCLIO GREATPOWER X14S4P3 550W ATX12V 550W Power Supply - Retail

Intel Core 2 Duo E6750 Conroe 2.66GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80557E6750 - Retail

G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Retail

MITSUMI Beige 2.0MB 3.5" Internal USB 2.0 digital card reader and Floppy Drive ,Black Bezel Replacement Included Model FA404M BG - Retail

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3320620AS (Perpendicular Recording Technology) 320GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM

SAMSUNG 216BW Black-Silver 21.6" 5ms DVI Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail

Logitech G15 Gaming Keyboard - Retail

Logitech G5 2-Tone 7 Buttons 1 x Wheel USB Laser Mouse - Retail

ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail