Re-Considering Overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

krazyq

krazy Techie
Need help Overclocking Opteron 165

Hey guys,

Ill be getting my new mobo and cooler on thursday:
Newegg.com - Foxconn NF4UK8AA-8EKRS Socket 939 NVIDIA nForce4 Ultra ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Newegg.com - ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 64 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

I just checked new egg again and they lowerd their price of the x2 4200
Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Toledo 2.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket 939 Processor - OEM

I do know the 4200 will out run the opty on stock.

Im really scared to oc, because i dont wanna blow up anything. I have no experience Overclocking, so it will be risky for me.
If their is a way for you guys to walk through with me a simple guide to get it to around 2.2 -2.4 ghz that would be awsome.

If its too complicated, im thinkin of returning my opty and getting the 4200 since it is faster on stock, except that is has lower L2 cache.

I will be saving around 10 dollars in the end, but the main problem is the risk of oc.

So what do you guys think I should do...

That is absolutely no worries, unless you're stupid enough, to shove excessive voltage, do the CPU's throat. Other than that, everything is completely safe. If it is overclocked to far, it would simply restart or shut down, to prevent damage. For AMD overclocking, I would ask nagasama, if I were you.

alright...when you mention cpus throat, what do you mean by that.
And for oc, im supose to install the mobo first then re format.
What programms should i have installed to perform stress tests.
And to contact nagasama...is it ok to pm him or will he find this thread?

lol...oops...CPU's throat, I meant the VCore voltage or CPU voltage.

Install your components, then reformat with a fresh copy of Windows, install motherboard drivers and others, update Windows, and then overclock through BIOS.