When will it be safe to purchase Vista?

Status
Not open for further replies.
King$nake said:
Can someone explain what the biggest differences are between 32 and 64? Would I be better off with 64 bit with my system? (sig)

thats a nice question, the most easy way for me to explain is using broom sticks.

Okay lets say you and your friend are mopping the floors of your rooms. You and your friend mop and the same speed but you got a 64inch broom while your friend has a 32inch broom. You mop faster? not really but you mop more with less effort get it?

plumber4578 said:
wait 1 minute!!!!!! is vista going to be like windows 2000?????? I piece of poo just to hold us over for the next windows that's more solid? Now I'm scared; I just had a relapse to the time between 98 and XP

and wow you really think windows 2000 is that bad? i've been using Win2k Professional for 7 years and i found it way more stable than XP. I'm just upgrading Vista soon cuz its dual-core optimized. But really the safest time to buy vista is when the make SP1 so they got most of the bugs out.

^ agreed.
now is a good time. Microsoft basically stops caring about the previous OS as soon as they release a new one, and put all their efforts towards fixes and features into the new OS

I disagree with the "caring about their new OS" part, Vistas been out for more then 7 months and I haven't even seen much an improvement, still horrible driver support.

I wonder just how long it will take software manufacturers to make the switch to 64bit. I mean, 64bit has been around for a long, long time; forever in servers, and for quite a while now desktops have supported it. What really irks me is when I buy a 64bit compatable processor (which probably upped the cost) and the processor is outdated before x64 software is widely supported. That happened with my last processor, and I am confident that I will see the reign of the E6xxx line of Intel processors die before I ever run a 64 bit OS.