Buying a New Computer ...

Status
Not open for further replies.

dweeb

Baseband Member
Hello all, I'm planning to buy a new computer. I've got a budget of ~£500 (yes, I live in England).

I want a computer with a modest hard drive (~200GB), a good, fast processor and lots of RAM! My current computer has merely 512MB DDR and it's almost four years old now. It's really starting to struggle with simple processes and I'm fed up with it!

I'm not a "serious" computer-gamer (I play some PC games, most of which aren't CPU intensive) and I don't edit videos or anything like that ... based on this information, what would you recommend?

I've had a look myself, mainly on Dell.co.uk. I've found this one (the higher-end one):
XPS 210 Product Details

What do you think? Any help would be very much appreciated because I am no expert!

If you only have a choice of going with a pre-built computer than get the xps210 on the left. The one the cost 489. You should know that the intergrated video for the xps210 is not good at all so I recommend you getting another video card after purchasing. How much is 489 in USD?

Thanks for the response!

£489 = ~$992

Yes ... I did some research and noted that the graphics card is not very good ... I'll probably use my current one (ATI Radeon 9800 Pro), although it's old, it might be better.

Will the Intel Viiv Core 2 Duo E6320 Processor (1.86GHz,1066MHz,4MB cache) be fast enough, or should I upgrade it to the E6420 (2.13GHz) for ~£35 more?

As for monitors ... I have read that Samsung, LG and Hanns G are good. What do you think?

Please do not buy a dell therre ghay. Build your own super ownage ninja rig for the same cost that would kill that setup.

Also £489 Does not equal $992- hard ware is much cheaper in America. It would probably be more like 600-700 USD.

Please do not buy a dell therre ghay. Build your own super ownage ninja rig for the same cost that would kill that setup.