Secondary Touchscreen Monitor? Help!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

arrowswake

Beta member
I'm a sophomore in college, and I really enjoy my music. I have Logitech Z-680 5.1 speakers for my regular computer setup, but to go to sleep, I have smaller speakers (JBL Creature Speakers) that I'm going to attach to my bedposts so I can listen to my music when I go to sleep, without bothering my roommate (I'm just gonna throw those in the headphone jack to use them at night, no fancy setup there). My idea was this:

Add a 7" Touchscreen LCD and mount it on my bed, so I can CONTROL my music from my bed.

Now I don't really know how to go about doing this. I know which touchscreen I would want: http://www.xenarcdirect.com/detail.asp?PRODUCT_ID=700TS It has the VGA connection, so that's all set.

Now my problem lies in the fact that I already have a graphics card, that I DON'T want to have to change. I just got it last month, and its the ATI Radeon 9800 All-In-Wonder Pro, so changing that to a dual-monitor card is out of the question, I'd rather not have the Touchscreen than replace it.

Seeing as that's taking up my AGP slot, is there a way I can get a secondary PCI graphics card, to hook the touchscreen up to? It wouldn't have to be a good graphics card by any means, it's just going to have Winamp on it. Something 32MB, I wouldn't mind paying for a 64MB or anything (Besides the touchscreen, I'd like to keep the cost under $50, $60). Basically I'm not asking for recommendations on which card to use (Though it wouldn't be bad if you recommended specific products), I just want to know if this would work, without having to unplug / plug in monitors every time I wanted to switch.

And also, if I'm playing a game on my primary monitor or something, can I still have winamp open in the secondary window, and control it that way? (Yes I'm aware that I can't have two mouse cursors in use at once, but would "clicking" on the touchscreen make my game screw up or anything?)