Wireless software won't load after re-format

Status
Not open for further replies.

NickyJ

Solid State Member
Hi, Hope this is the correct forum to post.. there are so many to choose from! I'm new to this, so please bear with me.

2 days ago I had my desk top pc re-formatted (black screen) The shop put back my windows XP home edition (actually, it must have been their own XP because I couldn't locate my disc, but it was my code or whatever it's called because it was on a sticker on the side of the computer when we bought it from them 3 years ago) and I started to re load my software. I started with the wanadoo wireless software in order to get the internet up and running. I can already hear the rumblings of 'what do you expect with wanadoo....' but I have to say that for the last 2 years we've had 3 desk tops and one lap top working wirelessly (is that a proper word?!?) in the house, with no problems at at - yep you hear right, no problems at all! Maybe a first for Wanadoo?!?

However.... I put in the disc and got to the first screen where asked to exit or continue and the disc just freezes. Re clicking just results in another entry in the processes list in task manager. I've also re-started the pc in safe mode and tried to re-install that way, but the same thing happens.

I removed the program from my sons computer and re-loaded it to test if the disc was at fault - and no problems, his is still running like a dream. I also did the same with my daughters machine and again, she's still Bebo-ing away to her hearts content!